Exhibition at the Museum of Finnish Architecture
Small exhibition hall October 2, 2013 – February 2, 2014
The Global Award for Sustainable Architecture is granted annually to five architects who share the ethics of sustainable development and have made an innovative contribution to ecological design in various parts of the world. The exhibition shows us a world that is both global and local. With the energy crisis and environmental disasters forcing us to recognize that the planet is a common resource shared by all, sustainable architecture is branching out in new directions varying in emphasis by location.
The West is witnessing a post-industrial revolution in energy and material consumption. Meanwhile, in the disadvantaged Global South, social issues are higher on the agenda. Radical innovations questioning the very notion of “progress” are shifting the traditional balance between the north and south. The exhibition will be shown parallel to the Transformation exhibition produced by the Museum of Finish Architecture as the culmination of its theme year dedicated to sustainable development.
Throughout 2013 the MFA has focused on the various challenges of sustainable architecture, looking at issues related to social, cultural and ecological sustainability.
Global Award for Sustainable Architecture

The Global Award for Sustainable Architecture is run by the LOCUS Fund. It is supported and publicized by Paris-based Cité de l’architecture et du patrimoine. The Museum of Finnish Architecture is among the expert institutions annually taking part in selecting the prize winners. Others are the Cité de l’architecture et du patrimoine in Paris, CIVA (Centre International pour la Ville, l’Architecture et le Paysage) in Brussels, IUAV (Instituto Universitario di Architetture Venezia) in Venice and the International Architecture Biennale Ljublijana.
Global Award for Sustainable Architecture prize winners in 2010, 2011 and 2012
Giancarlo Mazzanti / Bogota, Colombia
Junuya Ishigami / Tokyo, Japan
Troppo Arhitects / Darwin, Adelaide, Perth, Townsville, Byron Bay, Australia
Snøhetta / Oslo, Norway
Steve Baer / Albuquerque, USA
Shlomo Aronson / Jérusalem, Israël
Vatnavinir / Reykjavic, Island
Vatnavir – Iceland
Anna Heringer / Rudrapur, Bangladesh - Linz, Austria
Teddy Cruz / Tijuana, Mexico - San Diego, California, USA
Qeswachaka / Communauté Huinchiri, Peru
Anne Feenstra / Kaboul, Afghanistan - New Delhi, India
Salma Samar Damluji / Da’wan, Yemen - Londres, England
Philippe Madec / Paris, France
Suriya Umpansiriratana / Bangkok, Thailand
Tyin Tegnestue / Trondheim, Norway