Museum of Finnish Architecture
Press release June 6, 2018
Press kit:
Finland’s biennial architectural review presents a selection of recent projects showcasing new trends and high standards of excellence in Finnish architecture. The review is organized by the Museum of Finnish Architecture, the Finnish Association of Architects SAFA and the Alvar Aalto Foundation.
This year’s jury was chaired by the Portuguese architect Gonçalo Byrne, a recent member of the jury that selected the winner of the Mies van der Rohe Award. The two other members of the Biennial Review jury are Maire Mattinen, architect and Anni Vartola, architect and critic.
The 16 shortlisted projects offer an example of recent accomplishments in high-level contemporary planning, renovation, and sustainable, responsible design. They bear witness to the fact that there is no single architectural school of thought in Finland at the moment – “except for the school of quality.” In 2018 the Museum of Finnish Architecture hopes to serve as a brand ambassador raising awareness of this quality and giving Finnish architectural expertise the visibility it serves around the world.
The Biennial Review has been presenting top achievements in contemporary Finnish architecture in the form of an exhibition and accompanying publication every two years since 2002. The featured shortlist looks at a wide cross-section of various project-types ranging in size from small-scale sites to large-scale housing developments and public buildings. The review is a multimedia gateway exploring new architectural projects, opening up new perspectives and stimulating discourse on upcoming trends in architecture. Also targeted at international audiences, the Biennial Review is intended to support the export and raise the profile of Finnish architecture outside Finnish borders. After debuting at the Museum of Finnish exhibition, the exhibition will tour Finland and a number of other countries.
The biennial review exhibition will open for public at the Museum of Finnish Architecture in June 13th 2018. Exhibition design by Hanna Anonen and Klaus Aalto.
The projects are:
Residential buildings
Arabiankatu 8 Housing Block (B & M Architects)
Hiirenporras and Kissankita Housing Block (Anttinen Oiva Architects)
Kampin Helmi Senior Housing (Kirsti Sivén & Asko Takala Architects)
HEKA Koirasaarentie 36 Affordable Housing (Anttinen Oiva Architects)
Smoke Sauna, Asikkala (Tuomo Siitonen Architects)
Lonna Sauna (OOPEAA Office for Peripheral Architecture)
St. Paul's Church of Tartu Restoration(Kari Järvinen and Merja Nieminen, architects SAFA)
Töölö Church Restoration (Käpy and Simo Paavilainen Architects)
Suvela Chapel (OOPEAA Office for Peripheral Architecture)
Theatres and Libraries
Helsinki City Theatre Restoration (LPR Architects)
The National Library of Finland Restoration (LPR Architects)
Universities and Research
Center for Systems Biology Dresden (Heikkinen-Komonen Architects)
University of Helsinki Think Corner (JKMM Architects)
Dipoli Restoration (ALA Architects)
Ring Rail Line: Airport (PES-Architects)
West Terminal 2 (PES-Architects)
Gonçalo Byrne graduated from the School of Fine Arts of Lisbon with honorary degrees from the Faculty of Architecture of the Technical University of Lisbon and the Alghero School of Architecture. He has taught at several international universities including Lausanne, Venice, Mendrisio, Leuven, Harvard, Pamplona and Milan and runs the office Gonçalo Byrne Arquitectos in Lisbon. Byrne has been awarded the A.I.C.A. / S.E.C prize, the Gold Medal by the French Academy of Architecture, and the Piranesi Prix de Rome.
Maire Mattinen has been active in various cultural heritage and preservation projects. She is the current chair of the Friends of the Design Museum and the Museum of Finnish Architecture (DAMY). She is the former director of the Department of Monuments and Sites at the Finnish National Board of Antiquities and the recently retired director of the Governing Body of Suomenlinna.
Anni Vartola is a Helsinki-based architect and architecture critic as well as a PhD scholar specializing in postmodern architectural theory. She works as a senior lecturer in the theory of architecture at Aalto University and is a specialist on the theory of post-1960s Finnish architecture.
For further information:
Sissi Ehrström
Communication Designer
Museum of Finnish Architecture
+358 45 7731 0468
Joni Kling
Secretary of the Jury
Museum of Finnish Architecture